Skip to main content

Beaver Island District Library

Jacque LaFreniere promoted to Assistant Director!

The Beaver Island District Library Board of Trustees is delighted to announce the appointment of Jacqueline LaFreniere to the position of Assistant Director of the Beaver Island District Library effective January 20, 2022. Jacque will draw upon her years of experience in many island organizations (Beaver Island Community School, Preservation Association of Beaver Island, Beaver Island Education Association, Beaver Island Wildlife Club, Beaver Island Civic Association, Beaver Island Beacon, The Northern Islander, Beaver Island Historical Society, Michigan Loonwatch, Beaver Island Community Players, and of course, The Beaver Island District Library) to enhance the experience of BIDL patrons.
Jacque earned both a Bachelor and Master Degree from Central Michigan University and has been taking various certification courses, many from the University of Wisconsin. Her many certifications include:
  • A Level Three Limited Professional Certificate
  • Grant writing for Librarians
  • Visualizing and Funding for Libraries
  • Genealogy Library Services
  • Zoom Skills for Michigan Library Staff
  • Creating Summer Programming
  • “Tween” programming
  • Public Library Administration
  • Creating an Engaged Library
  • Pruning and Weeding Library Collections
  • Budgeting for Libraries
We are proud to have Jacque as a part of the BIDL team and her promotion to Assistant Director will only enhance the experience of library visitors. Her formal education as well as her practical experience from working in, with, and about the community will truly add to her new position.
BIDL Board of Trustees
Chair: Cheri Irmscher (Peaine) - Term Ends 2024
Chair Elect: Dianna Loder (St. James) - Term Ends 2022
Secretary: Krys Lyle (Peaine) - Term Ends 2022
Treasurer: Kim Mitchell (St. James) - Term Ends 2024
Trustees: John Fiegen (St. James) - Term Ends 2022
Becca Foli (St. James) - Term Ends 2024
Erin Martin Holmes (Peaine) - Term Ends 2022
Bob Sramek (Peaine) - Term Ends 2024
« May 2022 »
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4